Home » Preliminary Agenda

Preliminary Agenda


GM Room, Horchow Hall, 55 Hillhouse Avenue, New Haven, CT

For a PDF of the Agenda, click here (coming).

DAY 1 – May 5, 2023

08:00-09:00  Breakfast

09:00-09:15  Opening Remarks: Alexandre Debs (Yale University)

09:15-10:45  1. Roundtable: The Evolution of the Nuclear Order

Chair: Arne Westad (Yale University)

Participants: Målfrid Braut-Hegghammer (University of Oslo), Daryl G. Press (Dartmouth College), Or Rabinowitz (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Heather Williams (Center for Strategic & International Studies).

10:45-11:00              Coffee Break                              

11:00-13:00  2. Nuclear Proliferation

Chair: Alexandre Debs (Yale University)

Paper 1: Mayumi Fukushima (Harvard University)

               Discussant: Etel Solingen (University of California-Irvine)

Paper 2: Eliza Gheorghe (University of Bilkent)

               Discussant: Matthew Fuhrmann (Texas A&M University)

Paper 3: Jiyoung Ko (Korea University)

               Discussant: Nicholas Miller (Dartmouth College)

Paper 4: Reid Pauly (Brown University)

               Discussant: Andrew Coe (Vanderbilt University), TBC

13:00-14:00              Lunch                                        

14:00-16:00  3. Arms Control

Chair: Jeffrey Lewis (Middlebury Institute of International Studies)

Paper 1: James J. J. Cameron (University of Oslo)

               Discussant: Brendan Rittenhouse Green (University of Cincinnati)

Paper 2: Stephen Herzog (ETH-Zürich)

               Discussant: Fritz Bartel (Texas A&M University)

Paper 3: John D. Maurer (Air University)

               Discussant: Jeffrey Lewis (Middlebury Institute of International Studies)

Paper 4: Tristan Volpe (Naval Postgraduate School and Carnegie)

               Discussant: Todd Sechser (University of Virginia)

16:00-18:30              Break

18:30-20:30              Dinner 

DAY 2 – May 6, 2023

08:00-09:00              Breakfast

09:00-10:30  4. Nuclear Posture and Crisis Dynamics

Chair: Jonathan Caverley (U.S. Naval War College)

Paper 1: David Minchin Allison (Harvard University)

               Discussant: Shuhei Kurizaki (Waseda University)

Paper 2: Kyle Atwell (U.S. Military Academy-West Point) and David Logan (U.S. Naval War College)

               Discussant: Keir A. Lieber (Georgetown University)

Paper 3: Fiona Cunningham (University of Pennsylvania)

              Discussant: James D. Fearon (Stanford University)

10:30-10:45              Coffee break

10:45-12:15  5. Roundtable: Future Challenges to the Nuclear Order

Chair: Phil Haun (U.S. Naval War College)

Participants: Emma Belcher (Ploughshares Fund), Francesca Giovannini (Harvard University, Tufts University), Vipin Narang (MIT, U.S. Department of Defense), Jane Vaynman (Temple University, U.S. Department of State)

12:15-13:15              Lunch

Session formats: Conference sessions with the presentation of research papers (i.e. sessions 2-4) will proceed as follows: Each author in the panel will make a 10-minute presentation, then discussants will offer their remarks on their assigned paper for 10 minutes, and the rest of the session will open up for Q&A. Participants are encouraged to read all papers in advance. Roundtables (i.e. sessions 1 and 5) will proceed as follows: Each participant will share remarks for 15 minutes, and the rest of the session (30 minutes) will open up for Q&A.


The Nuclear Security Symposium is generously sponsored by the Stanton Foundation, International Security Studies at the Jackson School of Global Affairs, and the Edward J. and Dorothy Clarke Kempf Memorial Fund at the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale University.

Skip to toolbar